documentation and conservation
of buildings, sites and neighbourhoods
of the modern movement
  • flickr
  • | gallery entry

    Garden of the Provinces and Territorities

    Wellington Street at Bay Street, Ottawa, ON.
    constructed: 1962
    heritage recognition:

    In the 1950s, the Garden of the Provinces was situated on a 1.6-hectare site on what was the less-developed, western edge of downtown Ottawa.  Ascending Cathedral Hill, the urban park comprises two formal terraces that overlook LeBreton Flats.  The Garden is characterized by a strong rectilinear composition, complementing the modernity of the West Memorial Building (Allward & Gouinlock, 1958).

    The garden was executed in a combination of modern and traditional materials, principally exposed aggregate concrete and limestone.  A canopy of deciduous trees shades much of the park, and there are also gardens and water features.  Animating the upper terrace is the Fountain of the Great Lakes, in concrete, by Emil G. van der Meulen.  The focal point of the lower terrace is the metallic Tree Fountain by Norman Slater.

    Floral emblems representing each of the provinces are mounted on parapet walls to the west.  The park is further animated by flags of the each of the provinces, which were positioned in order of their entry to Confederation.

    In 2005, the park was rededicated and renamed “The Garden of the Provinces and Territories”, to include the three territories.  While a federal property, the park sits within Ottawa’s Cathedral Hill Heritage Conservation District.  The garden remains one of the principal designed landscapes of the modern era within the National Capital.

    RLTD resources
    RLTD news

    The landscape architect responsible for the design of the Garden of the Provinces and Territories has past away

    The OALA is saddened to announce the passing of Donald Graham on November 4th 2017. Donald has been a full member of the OALA since March 1970. The Association was notified on November 7th 2017. Donald Walter Graham Donald Graham died peacefully at his Iroquois home, Saturday, November 4th, 2017 just shy of his 87th […]

    documentation and conservation of buildings, sites and neighbourhoods of the modern movement